Board of Regents

With its chartered and autonomous status, the governance of the University is vested in the Board of Regents which has the general powers of administration, as well as the authority to exercise corporate powers as defined by the Corporation Law of the Philippines. It is the highest policy-making body of the University and is responsible for over-all policy formulation, as well as the final arbiter of all major issues in the University.

The Board of Regents is a collegial body composed of seven (7) highly distinguished members, six (6) of whom are appointed by the Mayor of the city of Manila, with the consent of the then-Municipal Board, which is now the City Council of Manila. Of the six members appointed by the Mayor, the PLM Charter prescribes that one comes from the faculty, another is a distinguished alumnus, and one of the others from the field of education. The university regents are chosen on the basis of their professional competence. They are men of high and eminent integrity and distinguished professionals among the citizenry. The Division of City Schools (DCS) superintendent of Manila sits as an ex-officio member of the Board of Regents and becomes the 7th member of the Board.

Term of Office

The University Charter provides for a specific term for the regents. Confirmed regential appointees automatically serve for a fixed term of six (6) years or until their successors shall have been appointed and qualified. They may therefore serve for more than 6 years on a hold-over capacity, provided no replacement shall have been qualified as of yet.

The DCS-Manila Superintendent serves at the Board during his tenure as such, which may or may not be longer than the regular term of 6 years.

In case an incumbent regent cannot finish his term of 6 years by reason of resignation, death or other incapacities, the vacancy shall be filled by an appointment by the Mayor of the City of Manila, with the consent of the City Council, and the appointee shall hold office for the unexpired portion of the term, instead of the fixed term of six (6) years.

Officers of the Board of Regents
The Chairman of the Board and the President of the University are elected from among the regents themselves. The Chairman presides over all the meetings of the Board while the University President serves as its ex-officio Vice-Chairman.

BOR Members (as of 2019 Sep 06)
Dr. Francisco L. Roman - Chairman
Prof. Emmanuel A. Leyco, University President - Vice Chairman
Hon. Wilma V. Galvante - Member
Atty. George Erwin M. Garcia - Member
Mr. Gener T. Mendoza - Member
Atty. Jose Ngaw - Member
Dr. Jenilyn Rose B. Corpuz, Superintendent, DCS-Manila - Ex-officio Member
Back to Top