Photojournal - April 2010

29 April 2010, Oath-taking of new University Regents: Three new regents, two of whom were formally confirmed by the Manila city council on 25 January 2010 through Resolution No. 49, took their sacred vow of taking care of the University as its stewards -- Manila city legal officer Renato dela Cruz, PLM alumni president Jesus B. Trinos Jr., and Manila tourism and cultural affairs bureau head Gemma Cruz-Araneta. PLM board chairman Justice Justo P. Torres Jr. administered their oath and witnessed by fellow regents lawyer Raul I. Goco and DCS-Manila superintendent Ponciano A. Menguito, PLM acting president lawyer Rafaelito M. Garayblas, and PLM university and board secretary Anchela U. Biag.

As provided for by law (Republic Act 4196 which now serves as the University Charter), the Manila city mayor appoints his nominees to the Board of Regents, subject to the confirmation of the Manila city council. Once confirmed, they automatically enjoy a uniform term of office that the same law fixes at six (6) years, except those who take over the remaining unexpired portion of the term of regents who become incapacitated by reason of death, voluntary resignation or other incapacities.

Back to Top