PLM 1983 alumnus bags 2018 Pulitzer award

Filipino journalist Manuel Mogato, a 1983 alumnus of Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila, was awarded the prestigious 2018 Pulitzer prize for International Reporting, together with two other colleagues from international news agency Reuters.

The honor came just months after Mogato -- currently pursuing a master's degree in Communication Management in PLM -- was conferred the 2017 Marshall McLuhan award in Journalism. He is the second Filipino to win the Pulitzer after Carlos P. Romulo in 1942.

Four Filipino-Americans have also won the Pulitzer: Jose Antonio Vargas (born in Antipolo, Washington Post, winner in 2008); Cheryl Diaz Meyer (born in QC, Dallas Morning News, winner in 2004); and Alex Tizon (born in Tarlac) and Byron Acohido, both 1997 winners from Seattle Times.

The Pulitzer award is said to be the "holy grail" for the journalists.

Related links:
Philippine Daily Inquirer (PDI): Faces of the News »
PDI: Filipino journalist among winners in 2018 Pulitzer Prize for 'drug war' report »
GMA News Online: Reuters reporter on drug war bags McLuhan fellowship »


Back to Top